Session 4 Year 2 Production Project

Nature Landscape” by Claudel Rheault/ CC0 1.0

SUMMARY

Role

Level Design – SOLO

Intention (SMART Goal) for the Session

By Mar. 8th, as the LEVEL DESIGNER for MYSELF I will learn how to generate terrain in Unity, by following Sebastian Lague’s Procedural Landmass Generation Tutorial for Session 4.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Primary Source

I’ve been in awe of the level design since I started playing Elden Ring a month ago. Everything is so well planned out and polished down to the smallest, most out of the way cave.

Secondary Source

This guy was a level designer for Mass Effect Andromeda, and there’s like a good ten minutes worth of useful content in here.

Training Source(s)

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1eVUlw9CDn_X80g8zIgA–Ca0amKe3ODVDkaPCQgqMzo/edit#slide=id.p

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

I learned a few different ways to control my expectations and also frustration when things didn’t work out. This also forced me to fix these issues, thus brushing up my skill in problem solving.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I talked to the person in my head and he convinced me to stay focused like Remy from Ratatouille.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used a variety of online resources including YouTube tutorials, StackExchange, Quora, and a multitude of other forums.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

I learned how to manage my workflow to be more efficient and focused. I also continued to hone my problem-solving skills as I have in previous sessions.

Reactions to the Final Version

Nellie Hughes, the Xbox Design Director at Microsoft, said that I should check out GDC Talks. She also said that procedural level generation was the future, and I was doing well to learn about it.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I’m not entirely happy with what I have this time. I ended up with a couple errors that I still don’t quite know how to fix myself. I hope that I can find time in the future to fix these problems and fully accomplish my goals.

Grammar and Spelling

I used the Grammarly web extension.

Editor

Wynne P.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *